C# ASP.NET SQL SERVER

notify-None_Compliance_Page

On one of my web sites I've noticed an attempt to access any one of the following 3 pages:

verify-None_Compliance_Page

notify-None_Compliance_Page

accepted-None_Compliance_Page

The pages are frequently followed by a long hash key sequence. Often the referring URL is a search from Google.

I've noticed this every now and then (about every two to six months) and Google has always been involved. A search of the web shows that others have seen this but with referring URL's being from Live search as well. Most commentators think that it's a random attack bot. I don't think that it follows that pattern but I'm not discounting this theory.

Today I came up with a new theory based on the pattern I saw. This was someone clicking on the AdSense link on one of the pages and reporting it to Google for "non compliance." So I was wondering if Google now has an automated way of telling web masters that someone has reported one of their pages for non-compliance. This would make sense so that web masters could check their pages to make sure that they are compliant with AdSense.

I haven't been able to find any further info on this theory yet though...

» Similar Posts

  1. Search Engine Optimization
  2. NoIndex NoFollow
  3. lsass.exe and SQL Server pegging CPU at 100%

» Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    No trackbacks yet.
Trackback link for this post:
http://guyellisrocks.com/trackback.ashx?id=39

» Comments

  1. Jennifer Schmidt avatar

    I don't think that's a correct theory, because I don't have adsense on my website and I get the "notify-None_Compliance_Page" in my failed referrer log. I'm curious as to it's cause as well. Considering that it's "None" and not "non" it sounds like bad spam or hackers to me.

    Jennifer Schmidt — August 6, 2008 2:23 PM
  2. guy ellis avatar

    @Jennifer - thanks for your comment. Subsequent pondering over this leads me to think that you're correct and in fact my theory is no good. I agree with you that it's a hacker bot.

    guy ellis — September 3, 2008 2:19 AM
  3. Ryan avatar

    I came across this page when researching this same problem.

    If you have the ability to do this, I was wondering if you could dig deeper in your stats and see if the IP address that is accessing the notify-None_Compliance_Page page is a military IP address.

    I don't know if this is a coincidence or not, but in my stats the user that access that page was using the below IP address and host.

    proxy02.kcab.centaf.af.mil (153.25.52.61)

    If you see the same pattern, it could be that a visitor was in the military and our websites wasn't on their proxy/server's "white list",

    Just a guess.

    Ryan — September 3, 2008 6:23 PM
  4. slobjones avatar

    I had a visitor this morning who registered this information:

    proxy01.maab.centaf.af.mil (Uscentaf/scm)

    North Carolina, Edenton, United States

    153.29.60.60

    slobjones — September 10, 2008 8:38 PM
  5. Irradiatus avatar

    Interesting - I just had the same thing with this IP as well.

    Montgomery, Alabama

    proxy01.asab.centaf.af.mil

    IP Address 153.25.111.60

    Irradiatus — October 10, 2008 8:07 PM

» Leave a Comment